Stunned By The Silence

Yes, I know: it’s been months since my last post. You’d think there’d be no good reason for such a lapse, barring some near-fatal disease, a honeymoon overseas, or tax season. None of these suffice.

The one thing that makes sense of this entire mess (aside from my just being incredibly busy) is that I’ve been saving all my postworthy blogs for something truly THAT good. Today I found it.

Daniel Danger, a name only a 40s gumshoe detective could love: he walked into my office like a thug pandering blow in back alley corners, and hit like a former middleweight remembering his pre-success junior high acne. That’s how I felt (kinda) when I first saw this poster at OMG Posters. I just sat there for a moment taking in the strokes, the colors, the mood and feel of this scene. It really stopped me in my swivel, high-back faux-leather office chair.

It’s put me on a hunt of other Daniel Danger prints, and there are a good number, each with this distinctly similar feel. Dark. Moody. High contrast, with some light providing a patina for the scene’s raw emotion. I believe one can only get a print for this by going to one of the Why? concerts where they’re sold. I need to find a friend willing to go, just so I can pay their ticket, pay their gas, pay their overnight binge just to get me one of these prints.

Yes, I’m that desperate.

This is freakin’ amazing. You’re lucky I care enough to even tell you about it (that’s how I feel).

More Daniel Danger at Tiny Media Empire.

UPDATE: I just bought this poster. I never buy things for myself. It’s made me estatic. Also got two other Daniel Danger posters while I was there… Christmas has come early for me!!

~ by joshuacreative on October 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Stunned By The Silence”

  1. Hey Josh, this is Mitch from OMGPosters. These will actually be available at Postersandtoys.com soon, so if you can’t make it to a show, we’ll get you sorted.

    • Mitch. You have singlehandedly become my new best friend, superhero figure for a lifetime and all-around purveyor of my art drugs. THANK YOU for kicking down some art love and the hot tip!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

